An Interview with Christina Loman

As part of the Indie Gift-a-Long I get to chat with some great designers, today it is Christina Loman, you can see all of her designs on ravelry,  (2o of them are eligible for the GAL 25% discount) and she blogs at feel good knitting.  Would you like to win one of Christina’s patterns? She has very kindly offered one free pattern, just like or comment on this post to be in with a chance to win!

headshot (2)

What do you think is the biggest influence on your design process?

I tend to design things I want to wear. Most of my designs start as a frustration with something I have in my mind that I can’t find in stores or on Ravelry. I think that’s part of why I do so much of my designing independently – I want what I have in my mind and I want it now!

How many WIP’s do you currently have?

Just one. I’m on a tight deadline for a non-indie pattern right now. Normally though, I like to have a big WIP and a portable WIP going, and possibly an extra mindless one too.

Do you have a favourite yarn or fibre that you like to knit with?

I definitely have a soft spot for alpaca, and silk as well. No particular brand that calls to me though. There are so many good ones to play with; how could I limit myself?!

If you could knit/crochet only one item type what would it be?

Sweaters. Absolutely, no hesitation. I can never have enough sweaters.

My favourite design of yours is definitely Catch, which one is your favourite and why?

I think Swept Away is the prettiest and most rewarding pattern I’ve worked on, but I wear Potomac the most. I love the fit, I love the yarn, and I love the fact that it reminds me of my roots every time I wear it – the Potomac River is less than 5 miles from my house.

Which one of your patterns would make a great gift?

The Smitten Glittens are a fast and useful knit, which I think makes them good for gifts. Less likely to be surprise heartbreak there. But I think Bâttonage is very quick and stylish too.

smitten glittens (2)

(without giving too much away) are you working on any new designs at the moment?

I have a collection of designs coming out through a great alpaca-focused company in St. Louis in the coming months. I’ve been working on it since July and it’s making me crazy not to be able to share!

And finally what will you be working on during the GAL?

I’m hoping to find a good pair of fingerless mitts on the Pinterest boards, but I’m definitely keeping my options open. I don’t tend to deliberately seek out holiday projects, but if I find one that strikes my fancy and won’t make me sad if it’s not well-received, I definitely go for it!

Thank you Christina for talking with me, I shall keep an eye out for your new designs, I love alpaca!

 

2 thoughts on “An Interview with Christina Loman

  1. Pingback: Last Chance for the GAL Sale! | Feel Good Knitting

Leave a Reply

